ShareTheMoon600x900Thank you so much for having me here today, Brynna. I loved your interview questions and even admitted a few things kept secret until now!

Thank you for joining me in the shadows. Pay no attention to that odd silhouette over there. Weird things live here.  Where do you hail from?

Answer: I hail from Bethel, Connecticut, a smallish town near Danbury and a place offering some inspiration for my latest release, Share the Moon.

Tell me about your latest book. What makes it stand out from the crowd?

Answer: Share the Moon is—at its core—a romance. But it’s really so much more. The book is best described in the words of this 5-Star review on Goodreads:

“A small town, a big lake, old secrets and ever-raw losses–Share the Moon, first in the Blue Moon Lake Series by Sharon Struth, grabs all of those in a top hat, stirs it up a bit, and manages to pull out magic.”

Share the Moon Blurb:

Sometimes trust is the toughest lesson to learn.

Sophie Shaw is days away from signing a contract that will fulfill her dream of owning a vineyard. For her, it’s a chance to restart her life and put past tragedies to rest. But Duncan Jamieson’s counter offer blows hers out to sea.

Duncan still finds Sophie as appealing as he had during boyhood vacations to the lake. Older and wiser now, he has his own reasons for wanting the land. His offer, however, hinges on a zoning change approval.

Bribery rumors threaten the deal and make Sophie wary of Duncan, yet she cannot deny his appeal. When her journalistic research uncovers a Jamieson family secret, trust becomes the hardest lesson for them both.

What advice would you give to writers just starting out?

Answer: Learn, write every day and listen to advice.

How did you deal with rejection letters? Any tips for unpublished writers?

Answer: Rejection is part of writing. I once had a writing teacher tell me that for every thirteen submissions, you might get one acceptance. Go with those odds and remember—it’s not personal.

What tools of the trade are must-haves for you?

Answer: A supportive group of writer friends. At times, we all need another pair of eyes on our work, or someone to simply talk about the writing process. You husband and kids will eventually lose interest, but not your writer friends.

What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever done to research a story?

Answer: One morning I worked on a scene for The Hourglass (Etopia Press) and my hero was drinking scotch (or whiskey). To write about it, I honestly felt a need to have the taste in my mouth (not that I haven’t tasted it before). I went into our liquor cabinet and took out one of the bottles my husband enjoys and had a wee bit to drink—even though it was morning and I should have been sipping my coffee

What do you like to read?

Answer: I’m all over the board with genre fiction; romance, mystery, thrillers and even fantasy grab my attention.

Who is your favorite author and why?

Answer: Kristan Higgins. The films I love are romantic comedies and every one of her books makes me laugh and cry like a fool at the end, just like my romcoms. She never disappoints.

Now for the fun questions.  Let’s strip away the veil of invisibility. Do you have a day job alongside writing and will you tell us about it?

Answer: This is my day, night and everything in between job. I write almost seven days a week.

Your favorite book hero?

Answer: I have two answers. First, Atticus Finch, “super-dad” from To Kill a Mockingbird. Favorite “sexiest” hero, would be Jamie Fraser in Outlander.

You finally have an evening free to spend any way you want. Money is no object. Where do you go? What would you do?

Answer: I’d jet myself to Tuscany, where I could enjoy a wonderful meal at an off-the-beaten track trattoria with my family and best friends. Maybe I’d bring my tablet and play Candy Crush (like I do every night) after we eat.

Thanks so much for being my guest today! Anything else you’d like to share with my readers?  Don’t forget to give us links to your website etc.

Excerpt from Share the Moon:

Sophie glanced toward his desk, where Duncan remained wrapped up in his phone call. The top button of his crisp white shirt was undone, visible beneath a loosened red power tie. Cuffed sleeves, folded neatly to below his elbow, revealed strong forearms. He lifted his gaze over the rims of his glasses. She froze.

“Hold on, Kevin.” He covered the mouthpiece. “Please. Have a seat.”

“Sorry.” Duncan returned to his call. “We’ll have to wrap this up. My appointment arrived. Anything else we need to discuss?”

He’d requested her for this interview but didn’t seem happy she actually showed up. Did he have another reason, like to retaliate for the parking lot outburst?

She approached an expensive-looking leather sofa and removed a tape recorder pad, and pen to a teak coffee table but, on principle, refused to sit. Jay often remarked how he hated her passive-aggressive behavior. The reality of his observation came to full light with this situation.

An end table held a picture of Duncan with a pretty, dark-haired woman huddled close to two children, the backdrop some European city. Meg had said his wife passed away. Had she suffered a long illness like Sophie’s mother or was her death sudden?

 “Not again?” Duncan sounded annoyed. “You’re right. Okay. I’ll send Carl this time.”

She lifted the photograph. The teenage girl appeared in her early teens and had the cute nose of the woman and her dark hair. The young boy had Duncan’s features, with brighter cinnamon hair and freckles around his nose.

The room’s silence suddenly screamed. Sophie glanced over, afraid Duncan’s angry scowl would have returned. Instead, he studied her with a softened stare. His thoughtful gaze appraised her legs, paused midway then inched the remainder of her torso with a smooth caress. He stopped at her face and those damn crystal eyes pinned hers in place. Sophie’s breath hitched.

Author Bio:S0104078

Sharon Struth is an award-winning author who believes it’s never too late for a second chance in love or life. When she’s not writing, she and her husband happily sip their way through the scenic towns of the Connecticut Wine Trail. Sharon writes from the small town of Bethel, Connecticut, the friendliest place she’s ever lived. For more information, including where to find her other novels and published essays, please visit her at www.sharonstruth.com

Share the Moon Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KOsUDbViLQk

Buy Links:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Share-Moon-Blue-Lake-ebook/dp/B00L3IKWTW/ref=pd_sim_kstore_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=10XZWK8WG3VMBRMHZVTP

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/share-the-moon-sharon-struth/1119885774?ean=9781616505639&itm=1&usri=9781616505639

Kensington Books: http://www.kensingtonbooks.com/book.aspx/30514

The Hourglass Sale Ad.logoist

